Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree?

Recently, in various mega cities, there is a prevalent issue relating to housing and accomodation crisis due to land shortage. While some authorities advocate turning park land into housing units, I firmly believe there would be another better solution to this matter. To begin with, park lands have an integral role to play in every city as they serve as the lungs of the cities, improving air quality and supporting biodiversity. Destroying these areas could exacerbate pollution, significantly affecting the quality of life of citizens. Once the air quality severely decrease, local residents would suffer from serious health problems, worsening their mental and physical well-being. A salient example for this case is Delhi city - the captital of India, the goverment decided to cut down spaces for park to construct numerous building complexes, leading to environmental deterioration and this city is now considered as one of the most contaminated cities worldwide, where people have a low standard of living. Moreover, parks are often considered as reacreational spaces for people to engage in their leisure pastimes and physical activities, which help them alleviate stress and boost their overall health. Furthermore, reassigning park land for residential development would lead to a reduction in green spaces, translating into destroying the natural habits of local wildlife; thus, disbalancing the eco-system. Rather than reassigning park land, local governments could adopt a more appropriate urban plan to take advatage of vacant lots or repurposing unused industrial areas for residential purposes. By reallocate land more effectively, the goverments governments could not only make spaces for housing demands but also maintain park areas towarding towards a sustainable development. In conclusion, park is an indispensable part of each city, reassigning park land to tackle housing problem might not be a long-term solution as it lowers local residents' life quality. Therefore, I believe that each goverment should aim at a more effective urban planning to achieve sustainable development.