Advertising has become an unavoidable part of everyone's life. Some people say that advertising is a postive part of lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

As advertising becomes a necessary part of contemporary society, there is considerable debate on whether it has a positive or negative effect on people's lives. While there are clear detriments to promoting products, I would argue that doing so is more detrimental in certain aspects. On the one hand, advertising products is clearly beneficial for both companies and customers. Initially, doing promotions significantly enhances the brand image, attracts customers and boosts brand awareness. Therefore, it increases revenue and leads to a better return on investment. Moreover, advertisements will inform customers about deals, coupons and sales, helping them make more informed decisions and save more money when shopping. On the other hand, there are several reasons people would find advertisements disadvantageous. First, as a myriad of new advertisements are put up every day, for all of them to go through checking and censorship would be impossible. Thus, the fact that promotions are shown everywhere through multiple mediums makes it dangerously easy for children to run into those that are disturbing and inappropriate for their age. Secondly, the lack of control and moderation also causes widespread false advertising, where advertisers overrate and make convincingly untrue statements about the products. This may result in people buying goods that are low quality or somehow hazardous. For example, powdered milk brands that have been popularized and advertised in Vietnam throughout the years have just been spotted as unhealthy by health organizations. In conclusion, whereas advertising has already been prominent in our society and favourable to humans, I insist that it makes lives worse than good.