Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

I strongly believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to reduce crime in the city. As per the reports, Crime only increases in any specific region or country when there is a more than usual amount of immigration in the place. People come from various countries for either higher study purposes or better jobs and life. Instead of working hard and contributing to the country's development, some people chose the path of crime for easy and fast money, which led them to destroy their life along with others, who are linked to them. Increased prison sentences and strict actions are a few alternatives against anyone disturbing the law and order of the country. Due to this, criminals or defaulters should always live in fear that if they even think of committing any small or big crime, what are the repercussions of that. On the other hand, there are some better alternative ways to reduce crime as well. Some of them include- safety drives by the government to the citizens and other residents on how to be on the safe side, and if they witness any crime, then where to report that to get immediate support from the concerned authorities. Additionally, assign a special department, whose main task is to provide counselling sessions to the criminals and other newcomers in this field, which helps them to understand how this path can lead to destruction and in the end, what all will be away from them, including health, life and family.