In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowiedge or experience.

In several nations, the viewerships of crime shows and the sales of crime novels are increasing. The rise of this popularity could be atrributed to the fact that this are well-crafted stories, which caters to individual's with curious nature seeking for thrill and dopamine hit. In other words, stories, plots and characters of these crime dramas and novels are interesting and often inspired by real-life incidents and filled with suspense and thrill. By watching and reading such crime stories during their lesuire time, they are able to entertain their curiosity, which often feels rewarding as it stimulate the dopamine hormone, which provides instant gratification. The rewarding nature of instant gratification results in the addiction amongst the views and they are often drawn to crime stories to gain dopamine stimulation. In my opinion, crime genre not only serve as a great source of entertainment but also promotes awarness about crimes around the world. For instance, I was unaware about tourist trafficking, but when I watched the movie "Taken" I learned about local guide pretending to help tourist only to gather information about them and leverage it to kidnap tourist and forced them into prostitution. By watching this movie I learn to be aware and cautious while travelling abroad. Hence, crime novels and shows can be educational and could promote awareness. In conclusion, the growing popularity of books and show focusing on crime is due to their well-crafted stories, enticing viewers and fostering curiousity, which results in dopamine release. The desire for constant dopamine release is a main reason why viewer's are draw towards crime genre.