Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

The heated debate on whether it’s wrong or right to give money to beggars on the streets has been going on for a long time. While some argue that this is a waste of their net worth, others consider it a simple act of generosity and morally right. Thinking of the reasons, I agree more with the latter. At first glance, giving to beggars appears like a waste of money and an unnecessary thing to do. People often show support for this idea by saying that it brings no apparent benefit to them and only takes away from their money. Another point people add is that when hobos are given cash, they spend it on useless and meaningless items rather than using it to buy the key necessities such as food and water. The former includes alcohol and types of drugs. On the other hand, people argue that this is, in fact, a good deed that significantly improves the lives of beggars. Many believe that they are good people and understand that they simply may have gotten unlucky in the past. This comes from the perspective that we should be empathic toward people who are living through hardships. Others also say that donating money to those on the streets is a virtuous act, as everyone deserves a second chances at life. Taking into account that most beggars asking for donations on the street are going through struggles or have had unfortunate events happen to them throughout their lives, I consider donating money to be a righteous deed. Life is full of unexpected obstacles; thus, helping those who may not have had the means to overcome them would hold great value to them. All in all, I think we could be more forgiving and that we shouldn’t be stingy about a little bit of money that could at least get them by for a day.