Smart phones are being used in classrooms more than ever before. Some people think that this aids the learning process, while others think that it hinders it. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe that using mobile phones in classes facilitates the learning process, while others think that it deters it. Although online websites have great educational resources, I believe that the usage of mobile phones during learning causes distractions. On the one hand, it is thought by some that the utilization of digital phones during learning is beneficial to students because there are many online platforms that provide various learning materials which make learning easier and more efficient. This is because students have easy access to different kinds of apps such as youtube, and anki cards to mention a few which aid their understanding of certain topics and concepts that they were not able to grasp when taught by physical teachers. For example, research studies in my country, Nigeria, show that many students perform excellently in school and improve their grades due to the use of extra learning tools. However, I believe students can get distracted in class because of games and social media apps. On the other hand, some others believe that students should not use mobile phones in classrooms because they can reduce their focus and concentration span while learning. This is because of the various games, and social networking apps on these same phones and students might be tempted to play games or use social media platforms when in class instead of studying. Furthermore, this will have a negative impact on their education as they lose focus when being taught in class. For instance, reports in Australia, show that there is a decline in the performance of students and pupils in schools because the majority of them use phones when they should be reading instead. In conclusion, although phones serve as great educational aid in classrooms, this essay believes that they deter the learning process and in turn affects students ' academic performance.