Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The reasons why young adults avoid meeting up in person are that there are no consumption-free spaces and that friendships created online often spread across borders. Therefore, to encourage teenagers to meet up, it would be beneficial to make long distance public transport affordable and provide spaces for social interactions. The main problem is that almost all public space is used for commercial purposes, whether that is for buying a car or getting a haircut. As teenagers are mostly still in school, they earn only little money themselves. Therefore, meeting up in person in the city for example is difficult, as they would have to buy something to be allowed there. For this reason, staying at home and chatting online is more convenient because they do not have any expenses this way. Furthermore, through social media, international friendships develop. This makes it difficult for people to visit another, as the cost of international travel is too much for a teenager. A possible solution to this trend is to make long distance public transport more affordable. Governments could work out a new price bracket for adolescents with train and flight companies or substitute parts of the tickets with vouchers sent out to the young generation. Another way to solve this problem is to create consumption-free areas, especially indoors for the cold months. In summer time people meet up by the beach or in the park, but in winter, the only indoor spaces are cafes or shopping malls. By creating youth clubs run by municipalities, free of entry, they have the possibility to see their friends when the weather is bad and can also connect with new people. In conclusion, teenagers not having consumption-free zones to meet up and knowing people all over the world, complicates it for them to see their friends in person. Providing them with state-funded vouchers for cheaper long-distance travel and creating non-commercial indoor areas, could help fight this trend.