Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is positive or negative development?

In today’s contemporary world, young people are becoming very addicted towards technological devices such as smartphones. The usage of this among children, especially is common and some of them are spending more time on the devices on a daily basis. I believe this is certainly an obstructive development towards kids. First of all, young generations are too into phones because of their immersive nature, which comes with various addictive features and applications such as a selfie camera with funny filters, fun games and more advanced settings like Siri with a captivating voice. These options often have unrealistically appealing visuals and colours, particularly in the games, which lead to an unhealthy amount of addiction. In addition, children being totally immersed in smart devices is also fueled largely by social media like Facebook and Instagram. In most household scenarios, they get exposed to socials because of their older siblings or sometimes even parents. For example, in some families, an older brother or sister of the kid is constantly being present online doing adult trends as everyone else and consistently updating the media audiences about their daily lives. As a consequence, the curiosity and interest in the fun of conducting such an act will lead the younger ones to follow in the footsteps of their siblings, thereby causing them to spend more amount of time on their devices. In my opinion, there are only damaging outcomes for young kids who are immersed in smartphones. Being on screen for an unreasonable duration distracts them from communicating with people in real life, resulting in failure to develop interpersonal skills and potentially leading to self-isolation. Moreover, with the presence of social applications, children will build strong relationships with people online rather than with their family members and always look to hide in the room to avoid their parents from knowing. Furthermore, the addiction towards games being one of the significant causes for kids to be on their phones constantly will hinder the development of cognitive and rational thinking. This is because, the rules applied to the fun are not always sensible and may have inappropriate content, for instance, violence and destruction. As a result, they may apply those destructive behaviours in daily life, which will potentially be detrimental to the people around them. In conclusion, there are many reasons why young kids spend too much time on their smartphones and this development only leads to adverse effects towards them. Parents should play a significant role in controlling their sons’ and daughters’ screen time by providing restricted access to certain applications or games. Additionally, schools should take the initiative to educate students on the negative externalities associated with heavy technology usage for the betterment of the young generation.