In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In today's world, it is expected that parents sometimes tell their children that only if they work hard and are hardworking, they might achieve anything. Saying such a statement to children has positive and negative sides. On the one hand, advice on doing hard work has some benefits. Firstly, if anyone works hard and continuously pushes themselves to achieve their goals, they might be able to attain them. For instance, any student who studies a lot to get good results will acquire this. As a result, they will have a high profile, which will benefit their future career. In addition, a child would have several good characteristics, particularly competitiveness. As one of the most famous football players, Cristiano Ranaldo, said, "Without hard work and dedication, talent is nothing." For example, if a student gives a myriad of time to their studies, it will positively impact their academic performance. Consequently, when they apply for their dream jobs, they can compete with their peers. Concerning drawbacks, some children can be under parents ' pressure, and they will fear making their parents disappointed if they do not do well or cannot reach their goals after trying a lot, and all of them hurt their mental health. Hence, they could cause depression and stress and commit suicide. For example, in research that had been conducted in Thailand, where most of the students had continuous pressure from their parents for good academic performance, 36% of them committed suicide. Furthermore, if any individual cannot attain their goals even after trying a lot, it does not mean he did not do hard work. It may be due to other factors such as luck and skills. In conclusion, I would like to point out that persuading children to study hard can be beneficial and not worthy at the same time, and it depends on children because they are all different. If parents want to make their child study better, it is better to find a specific method for them