In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

In most nations, an increasing number of people are choosing to live by themselves these days. I believe that this trend has both positive and negative consequences in equal measure. On the one hand, this trend can be extremely negative. The first disadvantage is higher living costs. People who decide to live alone may have to pay more when it comes to rent, utility bills, and many other daily expenses. Additionally,those who have several roommates to split the bills with can reduce their living costs significantly. Another drawback of living alone is that people's safety could be at risk in an emergency. If someone had a heart attack or any other sudden illness, for example, there would be no one to discover and take them to the hospital On the other hand, this trend can also have a number of benefits. First, people who live on their own may become more and more independent than those staying with their family members. This is because living alone forces them to learn to do everything on their own, from basic household tasks such as cleaning their rooms and doing dishes to more important things like paying rent and managing their finances. Another benefit is that living alone allows people to make their own decisions without worrying about other's opinions. Those who live alone can invite friends to stay overnight whenever they want without having to ask for other's permission. In conclusion, I would argue that the increase in the number of community who live alone instead of living with family or friends has equal positive and negative effects.