Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a growing perception that it is unreasonable to invest in technology for exploring space and there are more advantageous things to fund. The author firmly disagrees with this view due to potential resources despite temporary benefits from other areas. On one hand, the breakthroughs in technology may help humanity gains new relevant resources. In other words, if scientists succeed in revolutionizing and innovating techniques or methods that are fundamental for space exploration, people will approach numerous valuable raw materials from other planets which are used for developing and upgrading infrastructures of societies. For instance, with such resources, human can construct more cutting-edge buildings and broader roads. As a result, the whole communities would experience many profound revolutions that foster their multidisciplinary advancements. On the other hand, concentration on other social aspects may offer immediate merit for individuals’ lives. To clarify, governments’ expenditure for developing space technology are considered to be expensive and impractical, so that amount of money should be paid for other sorts of investments which are related to dealing with social issues - such as homelessness or unemployment - and reinforcing social security. However, while the proponents focus on the safety and stability of the societies, they ignore the fact that achievements in space technology may help them estimate and combat the risks from the outer space, steriods for example, that is far more detrimental than the familiar social problems. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with this opinion due to the possible materials from other planets that humanity may benefit from with advanced technology. Eventually, albeit investing money on other fields of societies may help human overcome some tricky problems and dangers, enhancement in space technology may hinder the greater ones.