In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In most countries, children are motivated to take a gap year before they enrol in a tertiary education system. Factors such as, discovering what they really want to do and experiencing the hardships of the adult world tend to be the advantages, whereas the financial implications and demotivated students returning from their trip become the major disadvantages to this ideology. Students find who they are and what to pursue in the future the best during times of hardship and solitary. Children that are going on trips by themselves experience a new perception of the world causing them to change direction in future studies. Additionally, during these trips, these students find themselves working with strict budgets. For example, during a gap year children tend to turn away from proffesional degrees and change to humanitary studies, due to seeing first-hand social issues in the world, thus making them more money wise and responsible when working with their own money. However, these trips can cost a fortune and children tend to become lazy. Accomodation, transport, food and utilitys are all part of expenses that must be paid during this journey and causing a comfort zone for many children. For instance, a 12 month trip can cost over $ 20 000 yearly, thus becoming very costly for financers. The form of lifestyle also make some students comfortable and not willing to study when they return home. In conclusion, a new world perception on their future and the possibility of becoming responsible future adults are the most promising results of taking a gap year, while the funding of these trips and the chances of returning demotivated to do any type of studies are amongst the biggest disadvantages.