Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Accepting more and more tourists from overseas is often considered to be one of the most effective ways for industries to develop a further economy. Nevertheless, it is true that some people do not recognise the fact that this phenomenon actually negatively affects local cultures and the environment. I totally agree with this viewpoint because some nations tend to focus only on their own economic growth and because it is more reasonable for some countries as their currencies are superior to others. To begin with, there are some nations that hope to experience economic progress especially after some tragedies, leading them to focus only on the financial benefit. Italy is a good example to illustrate how the prosperity of tourism industries caused some serious problems for local areas. Since Italy has a large number of world heritages after the pandemic COVID, an increasing number of people visit Italy to see the heritages, resulting in creating a mountain of trash on the street as holidaymakers often dump trash without courtesy. Furthermore, in today’s world, for a certain number of people, it is much less difficult to make a trip to foreign nations because of the disparity in the value of currencies. For instance, according to the NHK News, the Japanese economy has improved a lot and there was a 10% increase in their national income, however, simultaneously, there was a rise of local residents who have begun to suffer from noise pollution even at night due to a deluge of travellers enjoying a night market in Kyoto and Tokyo. In conclusion, it is beneficial for countries to utilize tourism as a way to flourish their economies worldwide with some drawbacks such as harming local cultures and the environment. I completely agree with this statement because of the concentration only on economic growth and the deferring value of currencies.