The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest threat faced by humanity at the present time. Do you agree or disagree?

Increasing population poses large risks to our world presently. This essay agrees with this view because rapid population growth rate causes depletion of resources and pollution. Firstly, it is important to note that many natural resources such as water, energy, food, fuel, and wood would soon become obsolete as the population of a country rises over time. This is because the number of citizens in that country outnumber the amount of natural resources available. As a result of this, the government of such country would not be able to cater to all the needs of its citizens. Furthermore, many people could die due to the fact that their needs are not met adequately. For example, the healthcare system in Nigeria is facing so many challenges such as financial strain because of the rapid growth rate of the population compared to the minimal number of healthcare services. Secondly, overpopulation causes a lot of damage to the environment, especially in cities, because of many industries and factories. A lot of factories and industries emit toxic fumes from their chimneys such as carbon dioxide into the atmosphere which is harmful to people's health. In addition, noise coming from such big companies are detrimental to the well-being of the populace because they can lead to headaches and migraines. For instance, a number of people in Ghana, have developed respiratory diseases due to the increasing number of toxic fumes emitted into the environment. In conclusion, high population of people in a society leads to an inadequacy of resources from nature and pollution problems which are harmful to the pyhsical and mental well-being of society.