Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is argued by some that universities should value educational courses and skillsets associated with future career enhancement, while others say that the primary objective of a university should be to provide knowledge irrespective of whether it is effective or not. I am inclined towards the first point of view rather than the second one because students can get high-paying jobs and can excel in their field based on their expertise. Imparting learners with knowledge and training for a specific work field helps them seek a monetarily rewarding job. This is to say that by attaining a piece of up-to-date technological information and tools for a workplace, they can earn high remuneration. Furthermore, this will allow them to perform at their best in their industry. This is because they will be able to get high positions on the basis of their skill sets. For example, most of the educational institutions in the United States and Europe design their courses that are relevant to be applied in real life for making money. On the other hand, giving educational material to students for own sake of the university requires no investment in the hands of the university. This implies that the university does not have to invest capital to install modern technology and update teaching pedagogy. Professors will teach those irrelevant subjects that they have been teaching for years. For instance, in many universities in Pakistan, adequate resources for learning and training are lacking. Therefore, pupils just cram notes and books rather than applying them in different industries. To conclude, sole purpose of a university is to help students make a handsome amount of money after completing graduation rather than teaching them for their own benefit.