Some people think most crime is the result of circumstances e.g.poverty and other social problems.Others believe that most crime is caused by people who are bad by nature.Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the development of the economy and society, crime has become a public concern. Some people believe that social problems such as poverty and inequality cause crime, while others suppose the main reason for crime is personal issues, as some people are naturally bad. This essay will discuss both perspectives and give my own views. One of the strongest reasons why people think social problems cause crime is the poor living conditions. Unemployment and inequality in development may lead to poverty. People who are suffering from poverty may not only be unable to afford housing, food and other necessities, but may also hard to get a good job, because many people living below the poverty rate may have health problems. In these circumstances, if they cannot earn money through legal means, they are likely to commit crimes such as robbery or drug dealing. Additionally, a government that cannot provide enough social welfare may see a higher crime rate, when people face unemployment or poverty, if the government can help them overcome difficulties they may not turn to illegal ways of survival. Besides social problems, some personal characteristics may lead someone to become a criminal. A person who grows up in a poor family can still be successful, while a rich person may commit a crime because of selfishness, violence, or bad temper. It is true that some people are bad by nature. At an early age, they may harm animals just for fun. If these children are not educated properly at home or in schools, their dangerous personalities may lead them to commit crimes in the future. In my opinion, although a bad personality may be one cause of crime, governments play a more important role in reducing crime rates. Because personality can be changed through education, and people are capable of improvement. However, if they face some difficulties that cannot overcome by themselves, crime may become the only way to survive. Therefore, governments should provide a practical social welfare system to help residents build a sense of security, only in this way can society achieve long-term development.