Some parents believe that learning mathematics at schools is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used in later life. Discuss both sides.

Whether or not Mathematics should be compulsory is a highly controversial issue. Many people opine that it should not be taught in school while others hold opposing views. This essay will look into both perspectives before coming to a conclusion. On one side of the argument, Math should be a foundational subject as everything in the world requires maths - whether it's for calculating profits and losses or the amount of money to receive and pay. Children should know the concepts of money, in order to survive in this world. Moreover, it allows pupils to learn analytical skills and problem-solving skills, which helps develop their minds. This allows them to be more intelligent, which could open many doors for them in the future. They may be able to make a successful career out of arithmetics. On the other hand, many people believe that arithmetic and numbers are no longer necessary. Most calculations can be done using technology and computers. For instance, simple addition, subtraction, multiplication and division can be done on a phone’s calculator app. This means that pupils no longer need to do these things themselves, making it easier for them. Furthermore, students who have artistic abilities and plan to pursue Arts and Music would not require any numbers. If they’re forced to take that subject, they may not enjoy studying and going to school. They may feel discouraged if they find it tough to keep up. Not only that, it is a waste of time for learners to study a complicated subject that they would not use in the future. It would be better for them to spend time and effort on the things that they’re interested in. In conclusion, the primary principles of Maths should be taught to ensure that students have a basic and common understanding; while the advanced Maths principles should be optional for students.