E-mail has had a huge impact on professional and social communication, but this impact has been negative as well as positive. Do the disadvantages of using email outweigh the advantages?

In the past few years, email has become a popular source of communication worldwide. There are several advantages and disadvantages of this. This essay will discuss both views before coming to a conclusion. An advantage of using email is that it is a formal and common method used in workplaces and schools. It is easy to track conversations among people and can be sent to multiple people at once. There is physical written proof of messages, which could be beneficial to tackle conflicts and disagreements. For instance, businesses rely on email to send information regarding meetings and tasks. Teachers and students use email to contact one another for assignments and queries. However, it is not commonly used by teenagers as they tend to use social media apps such as Instagram to communicate. This means that messages through emails may not be viewed, causing them to miss out on essential information. Furthermore, emails are prone to hacking and viruses; therefore, financial information and passwords should not be sent through that platform. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of using email outweigh the disadvantages. This is because this platform can be used to connect with people from all over the world. If this was not available, the other form of communication would’ve been by postcards and letters, which take a lot more time.