Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe the government should develop the railway system instead of the road one. Although this idea has such benefits as a less ecological impact and decreasing cost for end customers, at the same time high building expenses and limited access to low population regions can be problems. This essay will discuss why an extension of railways can not replace the necessity of building roads. To begin with the advantages of railways, it is obvious that trains are more eco-friendly than automobiles. In addition, for passengers, the price is usually lower than other types of traction which makes a mode of rail transport more attractive. Eco activists reckon the advanced train line organization can lead people to give up using cars and as a result, it decreases air pollution and additionally declines traffic. So railways can be a more ecological and economical alternative. On the other hand, the cost of building railways is dramatically higher than that of roads. So this is a reason why small towns will never be connected by railways. For example, the trans-siberian railway has tied big cities of Siberia, while fewer population towns such as Tomsk or Novokuznetsk have been isolated which led to their reduction. Therefore rail transport can not fully replace road transport. In conclusion, although the extending of rail system seems as an option which allow to reduce the harmful impact on the environment and to decrease the price of travelling, the high cost of building expenses remains the main reason why rail transport has never fully replaced other types of transportation. In my opinion, the government should provide a suitable transport system to every region trying to use ecological options where this is possible.