People were happier in previous generations compared to now. To what extent do you agree?

Some people claim that our parents and grandparents lived calmer and happier lives than we are. Personally, I strongly disagree with this idea because I think that the previous generation also had a lot of things to worry about. In this essay, I will dwell on lives of both generations and provide my perspectives. To begin with, the modern generation has all staple items. The majority of them are well provided for in terms of nutrition, healthcare, education, and living conditions. All these factors increase the quality of life and in turn the level of happiness. An average person lives much longer and earns several times more than their parents did. Nonetheless, it is undeniable that nowadays people experience a lot of stress due to a frantic pace of life. However, one should not forget that our ancestors have their own problems as well. Looking back at the previous generation, it’s clear that people had fewer forms of entertainment and fewer personal needs. In some regions, individuals were starving and were willing to do anything just to find a slice of bread. Also, poor medicine, lack of education and a tough political situation in the entire world just exacerbated the real state of affairs. Additionally, the vast majority of the population was involved in the forever wars which brought just distress and distractions. Thus, from my perspective, it was quite hard to enjoy life in these conditions. Summing up, I tend to believe that the previous generation definitely was not happier than the new one. I think that each generation has their own issues and pleasures.