A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantaged of tourism in the modern world?

Many countries around the world depend on inviting tourists to earn revenue. However, having unsupervised travelling can bring in many difficulties and challenges. Thus, there are both benefits and disadvantages to having many foreign visitors nowadays. On one hand, Having more frequent travel can bring about job opportunities for the local community and expand one's general knowledge about different cultures. When tourists visit a country, it is inevitable that they will spend money on souvenirs, food and accommodations. Therefore, these businesses catered to tourism will generate large amounts of income and profit, leading to an expansion of the company, thereby creating more job vacancies for unemployed members of the community. Moreover, visiting countries and learning about the traditions and history of the area can enrich an individual, and enhance communication skills between people of different cultures due broadened prospective and increased understanding. For instance, when foreign dignitaries visit for conferences, they are required to interact with individuals from different countries. Therefore, it is important to know about other cultures and not offend others due to one's own ignorance. On the other hand, an increase in travel can not only affect the environment negatively, but also certain populations of the nation. Due to the rise in tourism, the demand for aircraft increased, which in turn increases the use and burning of fuel released into the atmosphere, contributing to global warming. Furthermore, a large number of tourists cannot be entirely managed in a foreign country, and certain behaviours can offend the local community. For example, well-known universities in Singapore such as the National University of Singapore and Nanyang Technological University are popular destinations for travellers to visit. However, visitors are known to trespass into areas of the campus which are only meant for students, affecting the students. many students have also reported these issues, stating how unfair it is, as they had to pay a large amount of money to be able to access these areas for their revision, but tourists are able to sneak in for free. In conclusion, the travel industry has positive effects on the economy, but adverse effects on the environment. Though there are negative aspects to tourism, I believe that authorities utilising economic growth effectively can benefit the citizens of the nation.