A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problem if it is not managed correctly. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh it's drawbacks?

It is true that multiple places across the globe consider tourism as a main source of revenue. However, if it is not managed appropriately, it can also lead to issues. In this essay, I will explain why in such circumstances the drawbacks of this industry are greater than its benefits. On the one hand, tourism brings a lot of money to the local budget. The presence of multiple attractions and leisure facilities in tourist places increases the number of holidaymakers significantly. Many of them, planning their holidays, pay a lot of attention to such details, like the pools, play areas for their offspring, or restaurants in hotels, for example. They are ready to pay thousands of dollars for the best ones in order to receive the highest level of services and enjoy their time with their nearest and dearest. In addition, the tourist industry provides a lot of new employment opportunities, which also develops the economies of the tourist areas, as well as increases the well-being of their population. Local citizens, for instance, can take up positions such as the staff in hotels or tour guides. Reducing unemployment, this helps improve the living standards of people. However, the development of the tourist industry can be hazardous for the natural environment, if it is not regulated properly. Trying to catch the eye of hordes of tourists, with not enough restrictions, hotel owners may invade different natural places, destroying their flora and fauna by the construction of new attractions in these habitats. This, in turn, can cause the phenomenon when many species are on the verge of extinction. Moreover, some of the foreigners do not respect the culture of the countries they arrive in. If there is not enough protection of cultural places or strict rules for such people, iconic historical structures, which are part and parcel of the heritage of these areas, might be damaged or even destroyed. As a consequence, local authorities will have to spend a great amount of money in order to solve these problems, which is not always possible to do. In conclusion, although I understand that tourism can be a great source of revenue and a lot of places depend on this industry, I take the view that, when it is not managed correctly, its drawbacks exceed its advantages.