Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing debate regarding whether governments should allocate their expenditure to the plan, which aims to find creatures on other planets, or not. In fact, some people believe that spending public capital on this plan is somehow wrong due to several problems on our planet. In this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I firmly support the latter opinion. To begin with, the rumour that other unknown creatures must exist on planets which are distant from Earth is impressive and interesting for us as we are having conversations related to this topic with others in our daily lives. For instance, in Japan, some comedians are discussing this topic and stating that if we could meet those unknown existences and obtain notable and innovative knowledge from them, we would be able to solve a considerable number of difficult issues, such as global warming and rising temperature. However, at the same time, they do not always mention numerical factors which are essential to support or prove their own statements. In other words, though it is true that if these dreams come true, we can enjoy positive outcomes brought by these radical solutions, there is no evidence to make sure of those outcomes. Therefore, the situation where the governments spend a large pile of money on this plan is almost the same as that people, who are struggling with poverty, bet on the lottery to obtain wealthy lives. This means that the possibility that governments can solve all societal issues just by investing in this plan is significantly low. On the other hand, there is a more promising and effective solution. That solution is allocating governmental expenditure to generate more public employment and to reduce carbon emissions rather than spending them on the fantastic strategy. For example, in the US, a past president achieved the improvement of the living standards of the working class by generating more job opportunities. Moreover, in recent days, Japan decreased the oil consumption by implementing a higher tax on the use of harmful resources. These cases reveal that by leveraging public capital in more pragmatic ways, we can resolve serious societal problems radically and directly. Thus, the public sector should use their money not for exploration in space but for practical solutions. In summary, whereas the plan, which aims to explore unknown creatures on other planets, is highly interesting and immersive from a general perspective, there are more effective ways of using public financial resources as the above examples show. For this reason, I consider that using them for this dreamy plan is a wasteful decision.