Prompt: In some countries, people are choosing to live alone more often than in the past. Why do you think this is happening?Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, there has been an increasing trend of people choosing to live alone more often than in the past. This phenomenon might be explained due to the significant changes that we are facing as a modern society. Some factors such as globalization, the rise of more competitive markets, the specialization and creation of new jobs, the entrance of women into the workforce and feminism; an increasing worldwide supply of top talent, and the birth of the internet with its powerful connectivity to mention a few, have had significant impacts on core beliefs, aspirations and the way new generations are approaching things. I strongly believe that this social development has implied a variety of benefits in terms of cultural, economic and social aspects, although we can’t deny it also has collateral impacts in the long term. On one hand, those factors had led new generations to prioritize their careers impacting positively in the improving of their financials and therefore, their possibilities. Also, I find extremely positive that nowadays, women have the opportunity to decide if they want to pursue a professional career which has led to their economic independence, as well as their realization. Another positive factor is that new generations are rethinking and, in some cases, delaying the beginning of a family making conscious decisions towards it. Another positive factor is that new generations are engaged and investing in gaining valuable experiences out of their communities such as traveling around the world, learning new languages, understanding other cultures, and some of them, dedicating time and resources to help environments and communities. At the end of the day, we have a more prepared and conscious society, that is capable and accountable for designing their lives as they want in order to reach their fullest potential. A society that is prioritizing its wellness and the pursuit of their individual definition of success. On the other hand, those factors have had also negative consequences. To mention some, our ability to establish meaningful connections and create memories with our significant ones can be compromised by living alone. Also, traditions and culture might suffer an impact when people choose to live alone instead of together as we did in the past, because the best way to transfer and preserve our culture is by living it, and by sharing it on a daily basis with our families. Another aspect to consider, is that it has been demonstrated that living alone might have an impact on mental health, and in the most extreme cases, lead to depression. Another negative aspect comes when women prioritize their careers leading to a decrease of the birth rate, which ultimately in the long term, will have an impact on the economy and competitiveness of their countries. In conclusion, modern societies have been experiencing profound changes impacting their aspirations, approaches and core beliefs, and therefore, their daily decisions. Living alone understood as an opportunity that is aligned with the possibilities that this new world is providing, and we can’t deny it has brought positive development, as well as negative consequences. I strongly believe that evolution is part of our history, our development and future. I believe that we will continue focusing our efforts to propose sustainable solutions to address the negative side, while we take out the most of its benefits.