It is often said that governments spend too much money on project to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important? Do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether the government should allocate more budget to natural conservation over other important societal issues that the nation is dealing with. I completely disagree with the statement as investing in conservation projects promotes the country’s tourism and plays an essential part in combating climate change and global warming The main reason why I believe that investing in wildlife projects are important is because it will encourage foreign tourists who are passionate about wildlife to visit the country and therefore contributes to that country’s GDP. There are many countries in the world where wildlife tourism contributes to generating their GDP. For example, Kenya though a very small and underdeveloped country generates its GDP through tourism. The Masai Mara National Reserve and Nairobi National Park are one of the world’s biggest wildlife reserves. Every year, thousands of tourists visit these national reserves to see beautiful and extinct wildlife creatures. Another reason why I believe natural conservation are essential in combatting climate change. Many species play an important role in absorbing carbon dioxide. For example, many rainforests and ocean ecosystems absorb vast amounts of carbon dioxide which helps in mitigating global warming. If governments reduce their spending on wildlife projects, it could undermine the long-term goals to reduce climate change effects, ultimately worsening the socio and political issues related to climate change. Therefore, the money spent on protecting natural ecosystem is an investment in achieving long-term sustainable development goals. In conclusion, I would say, that while it is important for the government to look after the other crucial societal matters of the country, investing in wildlife projects holds equal importance in protecting biodiversity, maintaining the ecosystem and sustaining human life.