Some people believe that academic qualifications are essential for success, while others think practical skills are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are individuals who think, gaining a university degree is a must for being successful due to the better potential of earning more money. However, some entities value everyday life competence more because they find academics irrelevant and impractical. I believe gaining a high-level education is vital in order to be a successful person by most metrics of the society. On the one hand, there is a general belief that attending a college is an utter waste of time especially in countries where are less developed and the need for higher schooling is less. In these circumstances learning a trade job or a real-life career is a better option for individuals since they can contribute more to the community they live in. For example, in Iran, many people have an interest in art but instead of pursuing a university degree such as the history of art they prefer to learn a trade like repairing jewellery which is more practical and the demand for their skill is higher. On the other hand, some people try to gain a high-level education because by doing so they can have a better opportunity to be suitable for white-collar professions and command a higher salary. As an example, many people try to become doctors, lawyers, or engineers by gaining a degree in that field instead of following a profession which leaves them with less status and it is more demanding physically. I believe attending a university can change the fate of an individual dramatically and give them the opportunity to have a higher quality of life in general without dealing with manual labour which is usually part of trade jobs and professions which do not need a degree. In conclusion, whilst some members of society think that following an academic path is not a proper choice due to the triviality of the degree, other entities may still consider an academic path as higher education is mandatory to be qualified for a well-paid job which requires technical skills.d