Modern lifestyles are completely different from the way people lived in the past. Some people think that changes have been very positive, while others believe they have been negative. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

It is true that the way people live nowadays is absolutely different from the one they lived in the past. While some citizens are of the opinion that changes have been very beneficial, others are convinced that they have been disadvantageous. According to those who support a positive side, in the modern world people can have more free time due to advancements in technology. In the past, everyone had to be at their workplaces on a daily basis, but nowadays, using their laptops and the internet, employees can, for example, work remotely, which means they do not have to commute to work spending hours on that. As a result, they have more free time and can use it for themselves. In addition, the development in the medical area has decreased the death rate. Many medical conditions such as flu, for example, which used to lead to people's deaths, nowadays can be overcome much more easily. Personally, I agree that the changes which humankind can experience these days are beneficial to some extent, but I think that the negative ones are more serious. I share the view of those who are convinced that the changes in a modern lifestyle lead to multiple natural disasters. The situation has deteriorated significantly compared to a few decades ago. The overuse of energy sources entails the greenhouse effect, which, in turn, causes multiple tornados, hurricanes and earthquakes much more frequently than in the past. In addition, due to technological progress, the level of crime among youth has increased dramatically. On the internet, everyone, even small children, has access to extremely violent content. So they follow what they watch in different videos on YouTube, for instance. In conclusion, I take the view that the changes in citizens' lifestyles these days have been negative as they cause a lot of natural disasters and increase the level of crime among young people.