Some people think that children should only read academic book. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, children are enouraged to read books to enhance their language proficiency and expand their horizons. I believe that children's selection of reading material should not be limited to merely academic books. In fact, enjoying books for pleasure is even more important. To start with, although academic readers offer abundant knowledge, books outside the curriculum is even more important as it provides toddlers a place to enter a limitless imagination world. Academic books, such as textbooks or encyclopedia, undoubtedly contains rich knowledge that could improve children's academic performance. However, children are creative and wonderous. Novels and storybooks like Harry Potter and Peter Pan opens a imaginative world for them to be immersed in a fantasy land. Poetry also helps children to express their feelings freely and understand human emotions. Furthermore, confining children to consume academic books only contributes to negative learning attitude. To some children, academic books without colourful illustrations or compelling storylines could be tedious. If they are forced to only read these books, they might begin to be reluctant towards reading. To mould children to be active lifelong learners, cultivating a positive and healthy learning attitude is crucial. Reading books for pleasure is therefore more important than reading academic books as it helps children develop a curious mind to know more about the world. In conclusion, non-academic books not only boost children imagination, but also foster a healthy reading habit. Meanwhile, academic books offers rich knowledge. Children should be allowed to enjoy both categories as they are both beneficial to their long-term development.