Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Government allocation of funds to public transportation systems and the reduction of public transport fares effectively reduces environmental damage. This essay agrees with this statement because it encourages people to use public transport and reduces traffic congestion. It is essential that authorities of a nation greatly invest in public commuting systems because this motivates individuals to utilize public transport more. Large number of cars on roads lead traffic gridlock. When fares of buses, taxis, trains, and underground systems are economical, citizens are encouraged to travel via these means as opposed to commuting in their personal automobiles. Furthermore, this reduces the number of private cars on roads which reduce traffic. By doing so, lesser amounts of toxic fumes such as carbon dioxide and nitrogen dioxide are released into the atmosphere which result in little or no pollution. For example, London has one of the best transportation networks in the world, this has significantly reduced air pollution in the city because residents travel often via these public transport systems compared to using their own cars. Another reason why it is important that governments of countries should spend more money on public transporatation networks is to ensure that there is less traffic on roads. This is because more cars on roads cause gridlock which in turn, increase the amount of carbon emissions in society. For instance, Ghana has experienced less traffic rates and pollution levels since the government constructed and developed more infrastructure and facilities useful for public transportation. In conclusion, I agree that authorities of states should greatly invest in public commuting channels by making ticket prices cost-effective because this enhances more use of travelling via public transport compared to personal automobiles and reduction of traffic jams would considerably reduce ecological damage levels.