In modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food or use animal products, for instance, clothing and medicines. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that in the modern world, using animals for food and other products like clothing or medicine is no longer necessary. However, I completely disagree with this opinion, as I believe that banning all animal products would decrease production efficiency and could even be harmful to the environment. I will explain my reasons in this essay. Firstly, one of the main reasons I disagree with this view is that it would significantly reduce the efficiency of production in many industries. For instance, if animals could no longer be used in the creation of medical products, humans would have to rely solely on synthetic or chemical materials as replacements. Because industries would need to add extra steps to create these substitutes, this would greatly increase production time and costs. If we continue to properly use animal-derived materials where necessary, we do not need to add this extra, resource-intensive step. Therefore, abandoning them completely would lead to a decline in overall production efficiency. Secondly, completely forbidding the use of animal products could paradoxically be detrimental to the environment. If we do not use natural materials from animals, such as leather or wool, we must turn to artificial alternatives. When a product is made from synthetic materials, its manufacturing process often requires a large amount of energy, which contributes to higher fossil fuel emissions. These emissions pollute our atmosphere and worsen environmental problems. In this sense, the responsible use of renewable animal products can sometimes be a more environmentally friendly choice than mass-producing their chemical-based replacements. In conclusion, entirely forbidding the use of animal products for food and other goods would not only cause environmental problems but also lower production efficiency. I believe humans need to balance the use of animal products with developing alternatives, rather than imposing an outright ban.