Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

Homelessness and the price of homes are increasing like never before in this century. Cities like New York, are launching projects that builds taller buildings, for example; skyscrapers, becoming metropolitean areas while other cities often resort to creating houses on a larger area. But one question remains, which is the better option? Building apartments has very clear and straightforward benefits. More people are housed on a smaller area, however, it does have it's own challenges. Calculating the wind's force that exerts onto the structure of the apartments and ensuring that it does not topple over requires big sums of investment and time. Furthermore, you need to factor in the weight of the apartment and the amount of pressure it applies to the ground. By comparison, constructing abodes has upsides in the long run. Using environmentally friendly materials, such as; wood and bricks, produces less carbon emissions than skyscrapers. Also, it is inexpensive relative to high-rise buildings due to being shorter. Upgrades and remodelling are open to it's owners thus having economic benefits as well. However, just like everything in life, both have their downsides. Towering buildings correlates to traffic as it brings in more residents to that area. This could induce stress in the people living there and potentially have long-term effects on their mental and overall well being. On the other hand, sparsely placed homes could be using grounds that would be better suited for other use cases, like farmland or factories. And wider areas sometimes require cutting down forests thus that they could be producing more carbon emissions than it saves. While it is unclear that which solution is better, it is vital to note that both have their use cases. Homelessness and housing problems should not force us to pick sides, but work together to solve the underlying problem.