In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are many youths who prefer to engage in work based training rather than tertiary education. In my opinion, choosing work and training instead of further learning might affect their life quality. This essay will argue why the drawbacks outweigh benefits as young people who decide to register in professional training will not be paid as much as those who pursue further education in the future. Admittedly, one of the minor positive side effects of youth choosing careers over academic learning is gaining work skills at a young age. One clear example of this is that HR managers always tend to hire trained people with skills rather than those without training or any experience. All in all, enrolling in work-based training after high school may help young people to get a job faster. Despite the benefit above, one of the major drawbacks is that teenagers who do not complete their tertiary education will have minimum salaries. A study conducted in 2019 stated that about 85% of teenagers who choose careers over college education have lower salaries than their peers who choose to complete their higher education. Over time, this could lead them to underestimate themselves and keep comparing their lives to their peers. To sum up, many teenagers tend to engage in professional life right after finishing high school. This could influence their wages in the long term. I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages because young people who complete their education have a strong academic background, which will qualify them to earn more salaries and provide themselves with a better quality of life.