Some people believe that prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals argue that jail sentences are the most effective way of reducing the occurrence of crimes in society, while others believe that there are alternative ways to reduce criminal activity. While sentencing them to a term in prison is a quick and easy solution, I believe that governments provide high-quality education and a wider range of career opportunities. On the one hand, sentencing criminals to long jail terms will drastically reduce crime because this can invoke fear among other criminals. Furthermore, when a person knows that a larger part of their lives would be spent in prison, if they break the law, they become obedient and morally upright members of society, thereby lessening crime levels in society. For example, in countries like UAE and Qatar, a violent crime usually leads to lifetime imprisonment, which makes people think carefully before committing any serious offence. Hence, imposing stricter punishment deters people from breaking the law. On the other hand, others feel that there are different ways to reduce crime rate such as providing affordable education and a wide range of job opportunities. This is because many criminals are idle and unemployed, therefore, they commit crimes in order to make a livelihood. Additionally, when individuals are occupied with school activities and jobs, they do not have the opportunity to engage in violent offences. For instance, the government of Sweden provides free tuition and has high job prospects. This has considerably reduced criminal activities in the country. I believe this method is preferable in reducing crime rates in society. In conclusion, some people are of the opinion that criminals should imprisoned immediately in order to reduce criminal activities in society, while others argue that there are alternative methods. While sentencing criminals to priosn is an easy way out, its benefits are not long lasting, I believe goverments should make good education inexpensive and available and provide numerous employment opportunities to lessen crime rates.