Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people's lives and should receive more funding.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an ongoing debate about whether mass media should allocate more budgets to local news or not. In fact, in recent days, news companies have been allocating a lot of money to international news. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I strongly support the opinion that local news should receive more funding. To begin with, we need to reconsider the benefits and drawbacks of foreign news in terms of ordinary citizens. For example, nowadays, there is an ongoing trend that individuals are being regarded as citizens not only of their nations but also of this planet. This indicates that it is important for us, global citizens, to understand international situations. However, in real contexts, this type of information is not practical for us. On the contrary, what people genuinely need is local information, such as the renovation of the city hall in their towns and the disaster that happened there recently. By obtaining these categories of news, they can enhance their living standards because, for example, they can enjoy new facilities constructed lately around their living places and can avoid potential dangers brought by regional disasters. Therefore, local news is more valuable than international news for normal residents, and mass media should invest more money in regional publications. On the other hand, as implied above, the benefits brought by international news are notable because people can broaden their own perspectives by being exposed to advanced content. As an example, when I research economics at my university, I always use English articles published by international media because the information I can obtain from them is helpful for me to observe a specific object from various perspectives. In other words, without multinational media, my research content would be more superficial, indicating the importance of worldwide information for experts. However, it becomes obvious that this type of news is effective only for minor groups in society and that ordinary people are not too interested in cultivating this type of advanced information by themselves. These findings reveal that it is more meaningful for news companies to publish more local news than international news due to higher demands. Thus, they should allocate a larger expenditure on regional content. In conclusion, even though there are several advantages brought by international news, the group which can enjoy those advantages is limited. Meanwhile, there are higher demands for local news in terms of ordinary citizens, and publishing companies can make a large profit by capturing those demands. For this reason, I completely agree with the statement that mass media should allocate more budgets to local news.