Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that technological advancements have unified human civilisation. However, others contest that it has created further division. Firstly, the combination of social media and the internet is thought to be the fastest and most reliable way of creating communities. As a result, diverse global communities are created, in which people who share similar interests are able to communicate and exchange information. For example, Facebook allows its users to access various internet-based communities on its platform. Additionally, dating platforms such as Tinder have statistically increased the number of people in relationships, proving their effectiveness in bringing people together. On the other hand, the use of technology has proven to have negative effects. Consequently, clinical research has proven that social networks and cocaine both target the same receptors in the brain, thereby causing addiction. In addition, children in particular are susceptible to overstimulation and addiction resulting in poor mental development. Many studies have illustrated that children who are frequently exposed to digital devices/media are at high risk of experiencing delayed cognitive development, often leading to disorders such as Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). In summary, it is important to acknowledge the positive impact modern technology has provided to humanity. From social networking to its medical application, the function of technology has endless possibilities, which can further enhance human civilisation. Nonetheless, its adverse effects are a growing concern that must be addressed. Many individuals especially young children are at risk of cognitive decline due to overstimulation and addiction.