Some people think that social networking sites have huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s contemporary world, there is an ongoing debate regarding the growing number of users of social media. While some people think that social networking sites have great detrimental effects on both individuals and society, I completely agree with this point of view because online networking often turns into an addiction and young generations neglect people around them and lose interest in acquiring an education. First and foremost, people use social networking sites such as Facebook and Instagram to build virtual connections which often leads them to be engaged in continuous chatting and neglecting real-life people. For example, teenagers who spend several hours per day making friends online will eventually isolate themselves in their rooms and avoid speaking to their family members. As a result, they may be gradually detached from their parents. Moreover, their interpersonal skills will drastically decline and will face communication issues in society. Thus, these networking sites do really have a damaging impact on individuals and society. In addition, being too involved with online connections will have a negative impact on individuals, particularly young people which leads them to lose focus and interest in their studies. This is because engaging with friends on social media feels more entertaining and they will further find ways to spend more time with online friends. For instance, some may plan to meet up and try new and exciting things to do, like going to dance clubs or trying alcohol. As a result, they lose interest in studies, perform poorly in school, and develop unpleasant behaviours. Therefore, social networking sites indeed have huge damaging outcomes on individuals and society. In conclusion, it is an undeniable truth and I firmly agree that online networking platforms have severe downsides for both individuals and society such as neglecting real-life connections and under-performing in schools. It is crucial to take the necessary steps to prevent people from being addicted to socials for the betterment of society.