Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

People like sweet food and drink. Currently, food and beverages that contain high levels of sugar are at our reach by just buying from the nearest minimarkets. However, consuming too much sugar and not balanced with adequate physical activity will lead to various health problems, such as diabetes. Many people suggest the price of sugary products should be priced more to make people consume them less. From the given recommendation, I would disagree because of two reasons. First, people with medium to high income will still be able to afford these products because simply they have money, and they want to enjoy it. For instance, workers with high salaries can buy a beverage that contains a high level of sugar because they think the drink will cure their stress of working. Therefore, the government should think of another approach that restrains these groups of people from buying sugary products. Second, not only increasing the price of the product, but manufacturers also need to inform people of the effect of consuming sweet products, such as informing from the package. For instance, smoke products display the image of people who get affected severely by smoking. In this case, manufacturers can stick a tiny poster of people who are overweight as the effect of excessive consumption of sugar behind the product. I believe people will be interested in reading the poster while drinking. In conclusion, increasing the prices of sugary products is not an effective way to encourage people to consume less sugary foods and drinks. The action must think about the citizens who are still able to afford the products. In addition, the government can mandate the producers to add a display of the effect of sugar without limit to increase the awareness of the people.