Cultural tourism, where people travel in order to visit museums, monuments, and archaeological sites among other things, is a growing industry. Having so many visitors may sometimes benefit a nation’s cultural heritage, but can also cause problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Understanding different cultures has become widely popular across the world. Common tourist locations such as museums, monuments and archaeological sites have remained the cornerstone of cultural tourism which allows more cultural enthusiasts to engage in a variety of activities. Although a high influx of visitors increases the economic growth of the tourist industry, an overload can sometimes lead to unforseen problems. I believe the growing popularity of visitors is more beneficial than problematic. Even though developed nations also benefit from cultural learners, many impoverished nations lack the resources to develop other methods of generating revenue such as Morocco, Egypt, Cuba and Thailand, which use cultural tourism as their primary source. An example is seen in Cuba which has struggled to achieve modern development due to its previous political ties with Russia. As a result, Cuba has relied on attracting travellers to explore its national identity. Subsequently, visitors will often travel to embrace Cuba's vibrant architecture and historic infrastructure which fosters a deep sense of pride in their cultural heritage. Furthermore, the increase of visitors will boost their economy which will improve their GDP. On the other hand, the increase in visitors often creates minor drawbacks. For example, local citizens may feel neglected while tourists are prioritised. Additionally, some travellers may potentially damage important landmarks and disrupt the cultural environment. In summary, Cultural tourism is an excellent way for people to experience different cultures and boost economic activity. However, it is important to implement regulations and security protocols for protective measures.