Some people say that advertising encourages people to buy things they do not need. Others say that advertisements are important sources of information about new products. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's contemporary world, advertisement has become an important aspect of people's daily lives. Society has contrasting opinions regarding the almost unavoidable presence of advertisements. While some people believe that advertising motivates them to purchase unnecessary stuff, others argue that it provides useful information about the latest products. In my opinion, advertising affects buying behaviour, thus, people go after things they do not need. This essay will discuss both views and restate my opinion. First and foremost, some believe that advertising encourages society to buy things they do not need. This can be supported by the point that images shown often present appealing visuals and detailed product descriptions which give the temptation to viewers to purchase items they never thought they needed. To illustrate this point, although smartphones have become a necessity today to contact friends and families who are distant, the features they ever need are only calls and messages. However, the captivating and high-definition displays of smartphones, especially iPhones advertised online have become temptations to people, hence they upgrade their phones to the latest versions which they never needed in the first place. Conversely, others are of the opinion that advertisements are important sources of information about new products. The argument to support this is the fact that some groups of people are first-time buyers and the product details are necessary for them. For instance, someone who is buying a washing machine for the first time will be required to know about the safety instructions, prices, and unique features of the device and this knowledge is crucial to operate the new device. Hence, by advertising, the public will be educated about the integrity of the products which are important sources of information. In conclusion, while both arguments are valid, I side with the view that advertisements only encourage folks to purchase products they do not need. Although some information can be useful, most of the time the purpose is only to overglorify the brand and not as the source of information. Therefore, consumers should be careful and rational before deciding to buy unnecessary goods.