As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

In developing nations, the structure of families constitutes nuclear families and some people prefer to live alone. There are multifaceted reasons such as independence and access to education and employment that lead to this trend which further has a detrimental impact on society especially for senior citizens. This essay will shed light on the causes and effects of the phenomenon in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, there are several rationales that encourage individuals to live away from their extended families. Firstly, people migrate to different cities in search of employment and accessing quality education. In other words, some of the people who live in remote areas find it difficult to access good educational institutions and employment opportunities. This drawback of their hometown forces them to move to urban areas to access amenities and grow. Secondly, people prefer their independence and complete control of their lives. To illustrate, individuals who live with their parents and grandparents lose autonomy in their lives. They feel bound by the rules, values and opinions of their elders and consequently, they prefer to live separately with their children and spouses to enjoy independence and autonomy. Therefore, the countries which are growing are experiencing the trend shifting towards small families. On the other hand, there are a plethora of drawbacks that the communities face as a consequence of living separately from their family. The foremost disadvantage that society encounters is the loneliness that the elders experience which deteriorates their mental health. The old people who do not live with their children and grandchildren often feel alone which leads to depression and negative health implications. Moreover, the trend also results in the reduction of the population in rural areas which causes a shortage of employees in the villages and a lack of cultural representation. To conclude, modernisation is encouraging children and families to live apart from their elders as they seek independence and access to facilities but this will result in feelings of loneliness for elders and also lead to cultural disconnection.