News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Usually news editors and producers choose which type of content to show on television or newspapers. Their choice can be influenced by the interest of people. furthermore, I believe that increasing the number of positive news would make us more aware of the negative ones. One of the influential factors for selecting news that will be shown on TV or newspaper is trends. If there is a trending topic at a certain period of time, news producers broadcast it on TV more than newspaper. This is because they want to gain a significant amount of viewers, which in turn rise their financial benefits through advertisement offers. When companies find a channel which has a high number of followers, they try to get a deal with it. For example, as soon as the rumor about Jennie dating Taehyung came out, MTV channel talked about it in order to get as many views as possible. As a result, MTV made millions of dollars through the advertisements they carried out. Some people think broadcasting bad news frequently can affect our reaction to them. I totally agree with that because individuals get desensitised to a specific type of information if they are exposed to it constantly. If more positive news are added, it will make us more aware of the different types of news available. This is because we will not be used to one type of content, and that will help us act upon these news properly. For instance, the repeatition of the stealing cases in the US, made people care less about it, and even normalise it. in conclusion, although news producers might have specific criteria to decide what content to show on TV and newspaper, I think that trends have an essential influence on their decision. In addition, adding positive news could increase our sensitivity and awareness toward bad news, because it will not be considered normal in the society.