Many young people leave school with a negative attitude toward learning. What are the possible reasons for this? Suggest some solutions to address this problem.

It has been observed that there is a significant increase in the number of school leavers with a pessimistic attitude. In this essay, some main reasons behind this phenomenon will be explored, followed by my opinions on it. To begin with, one key contributor to this problem is the ineffective teaching method which follows one-way communication. It means that teachers play a sole role in leading the class and students approach the knowledge and information in a passive way. To illustrate, a learning section in a Vietnamese class lasts about 4 hours. During this period, students almost have no contribution to the tutorial, rather than trying to take notes and memorize the content which their teachers are explaining. In fact, this learning scheme makes them disinterested and bored when participating in the class. Additionally, school pressure also results in children’s negative experiences. It is well-known that youngsters are always expected to get good grades and achievement in the academic field. Consequently, they have to handle a hectic schedule with a mountain of schoolwork, homework, examinations and other extracurricular subjects. Under such circumstances, learning becomes a source of stress rather than enjoyment. This is evident in a report from the Vietnamese Ministry of Education and Training which reveals that about 20% of students decide to quit their university because of the heavy workload, particularly, some high school students even commit suicide to escape from the daily stress of study routine. To address this issue, it is required to have comprehensive solutions. Firstly, schools might consider changing their teaching patterns which foster a structured learning environment but also fun and engaging for students. This can be incorporating more project-based programs, digital lessons and two-way interactions into the school curriculum as well as utilizing computerized systems in teaching activities. This can make learning more enjoyable among young people. Secondly, a change in assessment technique is crucial to overcome this problem. Because the pressure of examinations and emphasis on good grades can be overwhelming, incorporating formative assessment or focusing on the whole process instead of just outcomes can alleviate this pressure. In conclusion, teenagers tend to leave school with a negative attitude due to the ineffective teaching approach and school pressure. To deal with this matter, it is essential for schools to refresh their teaching regime and the way they assess students ’ academic performance.