Of all the global environmental problems, desertification is, perhaps, the most threatening for poor rural people. Desertification is the expansion of desert lands into previously non-desert areas. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

There is no denying that desertification is the most hazardous natural phenomenon in poor rural areas. It pushes them to the brink of death, with a lack of natural resources and harsh climatic conditions. In this essay, I will explain the causes of this disaster, followed by potential solutions. Starting with the main causes of this catastrophe. First and foremost, the lack of rain is the most likely reason behind desertification in several lands. To illustrate, after years of aridity that result in plants' extinction, the wind spreads the sand to other lands, which contributes to increasing desertification. Secondly, plant diseases reduce the number of plants, and this is a key factor in desertification expansion. For example, transporting plants from other countries can carry invasive diseases to other lands. On the other hand, solving this issue requires a significant effort from people, governments, and global organisations. Starting with the government's role, they have to employ scientists to seek solutions and fund them until they complete their research. Also, a campaign to plant trees around cities is useful in hindering the expansion of desertification. Give them the authority and the required equipment to accomplish the mission. People can also participate in the solution by reducing their water usage in several ways, such as minimising shower time. These are small steps, but they make a huge difference. In conclusion, desertification is a massive issue that is caused by several reasons, such as aridity and the absence of rain. However, solving this catastrophe is not easy, but there are some solutions to prevent its expansion, such as planting trees and reducing water usage.