Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether governments should keep the data of personal phone calls and messages of their citizens on record for safety purposes. Some individuals argue that personal information should not be available without the permission of individuals as it breaches their personal privacy.In this essay, I will examine both points of view before presenting my opinion. There are people who argue that the benefits of keeping the personal data of citizens on record considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that it will protect the national security and sovereignty of a country. It is also possible to say that it is a pre-emptive measure against threats like terrorism. Moreover, authorities can act quickly if they have access to real-time data. For instance, cases of missing persons and kidnapping are solved quickly through phone call/ message tracking. Lastly, data access also helps governments to combat cyber crimes and prevent fraud. For example, financial fraud cases are tracked through phone records. On the other hand, others believe that every individual has a right to privacy to keep their conversations private as it contains confidential information about their personal lives. The UN Declaration on Human Rights has a clause to protect human rights against arbitrary interference. A second point is that the public may feel continuously watched which may lead to damaging their trust in the government. It will also create an environment of stress and anxiety in society. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that governments should be allowed limited access backed by proper legal justifications and oversight to ensure both the security and protection of civil liberties.