In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Nowadays, there has been a huge decrease in serious crimes. Nevertheless, feeling less safe than ever before, has become a common thought between individuals. I firmly believe that there are basically two reasons that explain this situation that will be properly presented in the next paragraph, and then some possible solutions will be shown as well. One primary reason for this unsafety sensation rooted in the general population is the increase in other minor crimes like robbery. It is true that this type of crime is not as harmful as narcotraffic or homicide. However, its rise significantly impacts how safe individuals can feel on the streets. Moreover, the augmented accessibility to smartphones has provided the possibility for everyone to record any crime and then post it on the internet without major filters. Inclussevely, sometimes even official media use these videos as relevant sources just to keep their position over their competition. For example, I remember that when I was a child the only way to know if someone was a victim of a crime was by reading the newspapers or watching the news at night, while today is a matter of scrolling on Instagram to cross with any type of tragedy. To solve this issue there are some specific measures that could be taken by local governments and the Police department. Firstly, a public alarm system should be implemented in parks, bigger avenues and points that are considered at risk by popular thought. Additionally, the Police should increase their presence on the street, particularly in the places described above. This way crimes would be prevented more easily. Consequently, giving strong reasons to communities to recover their safety feeling. To conclude, there has to be an effort from all the participants of society to improve the levels of security. And the better way to do it is with the development of preventive programs like the ones proposed above.