Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the worls. Why is this? What are the advantage and disadvantage of solar energy.

We live in an age when many of us rely on electricity, and the main source is engines, which are operated by fossil fuel. However, recently, the price of oil has increased, consequently, some people in several countries have turned to rely on solar energy by equipping their homes with solar panels. It is obvious that the change was because of the cost of electricity. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this shift. There are many benefits of using solar energy instead of using connections from electric companies. Firstly, cutting costs is the prime target for many of us, and solar energy is the cheapest choice in many countries. For instance, operating air conditioners in a medium-sized house in Saudi Arabia costs 500SR a month, and after installing solar energy, the cost is nothing. Secondly, it does not need maintenance, and it lasts for 25 years. This is their guarantee. For example, once we install solar panels on the roof of our houses, we can take a long rest without thinking about them. Finally, solar energy relies on a renewable source, the sun, and it does not release emissions, which contributes to decrease air pollution. Conversely, even though it has many positives, solar energy has drawbacks. The biggest one is the installation expenses, which cost an arm and a leg in several countries. To illustrate, in my city, one house needs 20 panels and the cost of one is 3000Sr, which is an immense number for many of us. Another setback is storing the energy, which requires a huge number of batteries. In case of a house with 4 air conditioners, we should have at least 10 batteries. In addition, what if we have a cloudy day? The answer to this question is that we need more and more storage units. In conclusion, in some places, solar energy is the ideal solution. Therefore, we see a significant number of households using it. I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Once we install it, we cut the cost for a long time, and it is the best choice for the environment.