The range and quality of food that we can buy has changed due to technological advances. Do the advantagesof this trend outweigh the disadvantage?

The varity and excellence of food availability has transformed due to the innovation in technology which has many positive and negative effects on the market as well as on consumers. However, I believe there are more benefits due to technology advancement instead of the drawback. First of all, technology has improved the food production, making it faster and more efficient. This leads to greater food availability for people. For example: greenhouses food projects aims in high production of crops and vegetables in a controlled environment. This attains the goal of produce accessible throughout the year which controls the market price and the quality of product to a great level. Moreover, with technology, farmers can use better methods, like drones and sensons, to grow the high quality crops. Drones can help spray fertilisers and pesticides without any risk of physical harm to the health, at the same time, sensors can detect the accurate temprature inside greenhouses. These can help grow crops faster and healthier, which in turn drastically raises the quality and quantity. On the other side, there is one major drawback, small scale farmers have to compete with the bigger corporations which can overshadow them easily. Cost of advance technology is very high and maintainence as well, which can impact small farms and farmers terribly. To illustrate, storage of food requires industrial refrigrators refrigerator which in turn needs setup and extra space. Corporations will have the bigger market and they can use that space for various purposes while small or medium scale farmers will struggle in such scenarios. To conclude, the huge amount of food with great quality can be attained with improved technology, but there are some drawbacks which can affect the farmers when big industries start taking participation.