In the future, robots and other forms of artificial intelligence may do the majority of the work that humans do today. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In a few years, machines powered by artificial intelligence will replace the human workforce. Although, the technology is evolving to a level that robots can sooner execute any kind of task with superior quality than humans, I believe that there are more drawbacks because people will lose their jobs and consequently have a poor quality of life. With the large-scale investment that the Big Techs put into the AI programs, society can expect to see more and more drones flying over cities delivering packages, taxis that drive by themselves, or even humanoids defending people in court. The number of workplaces that autonomous intelligence will assume in the next few decades goes on and on. For instance, Amazon launched a few years ago a supermarket that requires no real employees, only cameras and a system that registers all the customers’ purchases and charges directly to their credit cards. However, I believe that taking places that were once occupied by human beings and being replaced by machines will have a negative impact on the economy, throwing people into misery. The disadvantage is that companies will prefer to use the labour of a robot rather than hiring a new employee who will cost more money. Therefore, more and more men and women will start to lose their income and struggle with basic needs, such as accommodation and food. For example, IKEA has announced that it will replace its call centre team with an AI bot called Billie. As in the capitalist world that we live in, we need to produce to survive, I believe that allowing technology to take people’s jobs is going to have bad consequences, and the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages. In conclusion, although it might be better for companies to have a more high-tech line of production, I believe that individuals need to be kept as the main source of labour, giving them the opportunity to sustain their lifestyle and quality of life.