Public libraries provide a large collection of books to read. Some people argue that they should also provide other hi-tech facilities like computers, Internet, CDs and DVDs. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

There is an ongoing debate about whether public libraries should implement cutting-edge facilities such as computers, the internet, CDs and DVDs. Obviously, if they have these facilities, visitors will be more comfortable. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of implementing these amenities and explain why I consider that they should do so. To begin with, we need to acknowledge that new technologies enhance our efficiency in learning and reading. For instance, due to the emergence of the internet, obtaining information became easier, leading to a more efficient learning environment. Moreover, whereas we had needed to refer to dictionaries when we faced unknown words in the past, we can search for the meanings of any word as long as we have access to the internet. These cases point out that computers and the internet are one of the most essential facilities in modern libraries since the main purpose of visiting public libraries is to acquire new knowledge through reading books. Therefore, the benefits brought by installing those new facilities are significant and meaningful for society. On the other hand, as some people argue, there are some potential drawbacks arising from the implementation of novel technologies. For instance, the cost of buying computers is usually higher than that of buying books. Furthermore, the noise from typing keyboards is one of the most prominent complaints about having computers in libraries. In fact, in Japan, some users of public libraries always complain about the sounds of keyboards to library staff because they cannot focus on reading. However, from a practical perspective, the convenience of computers and the internet is remarkable, and the majority of library users benefit from that equipment. What is more, the noise problem can be mitigated just by installing computers in separate areas. In effect, many libraries follow this layout in Japan, and they succeeded in reducing the number of complaints. Thus, it becomes clear that these new convenient amenities are essential for contemporary libraries, and potential issues of their installation can be solved easily. In conclusion, there are a variety of benefits of implementing cutting-edge facilities in public libraries, and there are already solutions to solve noise problems. On the contrary, the benefits are notable for the majority of library visitors. For this reason, I completely agree with the statement that public libraries should provide not only books but also hi-tech equipment.