In the age of digital communication and social media, face-to-face interactions are becoming less common. Some people think that this is decreasing people’s ability to communicate well in person. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Many people argue that the growing use of social media leads to human experiencing a declined in real life communication skills. I completely agree with this view because elements needed to communicate in a physical format are significantly different from virtual communication and such skill must be practiced. This essay will present the arguments supporting my opinion. One key reason why I agree is that face-to-face communication is more complex than social media interaction. This is because to convey a message that grabs people attention requires not only a good main idea, but also supporting elements in presenting the idea, including intonation, articulation, body posture, and facial expression; which those are rarely used in digital communication. For instance, when delivering comedy script before audience, a stand up comedian must perform an engaging stage act to gain a wide attention, which that cannot be implemented in a virtual setting. Therefore, it is evident that an excessive virtual communication without practicing a real format will lower people's in-person communicate skill. Another important point is that physical communication is a practical skill that should be trained frequently. A good illustration of this is digital messaging applications, such as WhatsApp and Instagram, allow individuals to interact with minimal efforts via text messaging, resulting in a shift in people preference from speaking to texting. As a result, they will find communication in a real time format is an uncommon and uncomfortable activity. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the more people communicate through social media will hinder their communication skill. This is primarily due to different speaking format and insufficient speaking training. Hence, people should be encouraged to interact with person in reality to help improve their verbal communication skill.